Cyber Comfort Zone

Generally, I am a very busy person, having school and sports, that I just like many things to be quick and easy. Therefore like many other, I’m quick to just hit accept and I don’t take the time to read the Terms of Service for everything I sign up for. With that comes the assumption that I can trust the companies I am giving my information to.

I don’t tend to think about the protection I get from the government or the company themselves when it comes to my online information; nor do I think about that potential hazards that can occur with hackers and such. I tend to just hope nothing bad happens but I don’t do much to protect myself.

privacy

I am a big online shopper because I think it’s fast and I don’t have to get out of bed to do it. Whenever I order something, especially if its from a site I use often,  I make an account so my debit card is stored and I don’t have to retype it every time I buy something. However up until recently I never really thought about how companies use my information that I provide to benefit themselves and potentially gain profit from it. After learning about this, it kind of gave me a new perspective on privacy, in that nothing is ever really private because we give all these big companies permission to use our information when we hit that “accept” button.

The chance of me changing my ways is very slim, but I am more cautious in way because I am more aware. I still prefer having it quicker and easier and because of that I willing to give part of my privacy up. I think in the age we live in we’ve just come to terms with the fact that we don’t have has much privacy has others in the past might have had.

Leave a Reply

