I’m a Girl…So What?

Growing up I was an adventurous little girl and my parents never really pressured me into doing girly things. I hated playing barbies, playing house, and was never really into dress-up or makeup. In general, I just didn’t like the typical things little girls did. I liked playing outside, collecting rocks, building things, and playing with science kits. By my parents not limiting me to do the basic girl things, I am the person I am today.

I never let me being a girl prevent me from doing what ever I set my mind to. When I was younger I wanted to do things that women weren’t known for doing: being President of the United States, being a scientist, or doctor. Even after being told by my peers and society that women can’t do certain things, I’m still determined to prove them all wrong.

However, as I get older, I have come to notice that the process of doing so is becoming more and more challenging. In today’s day in age, the media has created a certain criteria women are expected to follow. The pressure of falling into that is continuously growing because it surrounds us without us even realizing it. Women are constantly beating themselves up because they physically can not be the “ideal” women that is expected by so many.img_6761

What I’ve realized is that being a girl means I can do whatever the hell I want to do and I don’t need to be molded into this figure that society wants me to be. Nowadays, I like dressing up, wearing makeup and doing girly things but that outdoorsy and science loving side of me is still there. I plan be more than that stereotypical woman and I refuse to let my gender define and limit me in the things I want to do with my life.

Leave a Reply

